Mum and Bub · Paper and things

The Calendar

Sometime last year, around Ka’s 3rd birthday, she joined ballet classes at school. She loved it. She would ask me everyday of the week if she could go for dance class. Then there were these questions about when her birthday would come again. She didn’t believe me when I said there are 7 days in a week and she could go to class only once every 7 days.  As if 7 days in a week wasn’t enough of a bombshell, I had to tell her about those 12 months too. And I soon realized that I had just figured out a foolproof way to beg and plead for trouble! For her there was yesterday, today and tomorrow.
I am sure all of you have either experienced or heard of the tales of the wrath of ‘Why’. I sometimes feel, ‘Why’ is the spirit of some poor tortured soul that was reincarnated as the word and has come back to get even with us. Anyway, since the wrath of ‘Why’ fell upon me, I, out of desperation, decided to make Ka a Calendar.
Here it is: “Behind the Scenes – The making of The Calendar” !

DAY 1:

Ka and I are super excited. Ka, because she gets to cut foam sheets and paper and felt into tiny pieces and pretend that they are all cupcakes for her birthday. Me, because I get to ward off the wrath of ‘Why’ for a few hours a day. My husband, on the other hand, doesn’t seem too happy. He can see the dark clouds looming over the horizon and I think he knows what’s coming. His experience has taught him that Ka+V+Excited=Shopping 😀
And shop we did. We walked into the local craft store and went gaga 🙂 But I guess we didn’t go gaga enough. So, I had to run back to the store to get some more supplies a couple of times. And while we were at it I got this too…
Isn’t that the cutest pair of salt and pepper shaker ever?  It’s called something like ‘everybody needs a hug’.
Anyway, getting back to the calendar, since we were so excited about all the things we bought, we couldn’t wait to start and so we didn’t (wait). And here’s what we did…

 

And here’s what I learnt. NEVER ever try to stick felt on foam without a hot glue gun! Never!! Unless of course you have plans of starting a museum of adhesives.  I now have glue dots, glue stick, liquid glue, double sided tape and a million other adhesives in addition to a hot glue gun which, unfortunately, was the last thing I bought while swearing at myself and swearing to myself that if this did not work, I will embrace the wrath of why with open arms!!
Leave a Reply

