Pen on Paper

Plumage

I loved this week’s challenge (#306). The second I laid my eyes on Amphora, I knew what I wanted to do with it.  I spent nearly 5 hours bringing my idea to life.  I drew it in pencil first, then went over the whole thing with my micron and filled in the colours.  After which I went right ahead and ruined it.  Okay, maybe not ruined.  But definitely spoilt. I added the dangles in the background and now I don’t quite like it.  I can’t undo it.  It’s way too much work to recreate it from scratch.  So, I am going to have to live with it.  But overall, I think it’s not too shabby.  Zen12_Scan_Peacock

I still want to do something to the body but can’t decide what.  I have printed a few smaller versions of it to do a comparative analysis of all the possibilities. Once I make up my mind, I will update this post with an image of my final work. Maybe I am overthinking this.  I mean, “comparative analysis”! Really?!  But hey, that’s me.  If I don’t overthink it, I wouldn’t be me.  So, I’m going to go with my instincts and analyze the life out of this one.  Hopefully at the end of it, common sense will prevail and I’ll decide to either leave it alone or keep it simple.  We’ll just have to wait and watch…

UPDATE: 

13 thoughts on “Plumage

  1. Gorgeous! You could try an aura around the bird and then black out the dangles – create a negative space and see from there…or leave it because it is beautiful just as it is.

    Like

    1. Thank you Lorna. I considered doing the negative space too but thought the strings of the dangles would get lost in it. But again it might end up looking good that way too. I will definitely print it out and try it.

      Like

  2. Beautiful! I love it as a tail. You could always make a print of it and cut out the dangles and mount the rest on another piece of paper, but I don’t actually mind them. Maybe some color pencil shading to pop the bird away from the background?

    Like

Leave a Reply

