Pen on Paper

M as in Moon

This was my submission for IAST#193.  The challenge was dedicated to Lily Moon and all of the suggested tangles were Lily’s creations.  Although I have admired and been inspired by Lily’s work for a while now, I hadn’t really tried any of these tangles before. Now that I’ve had a chance to try them out, I love them all.  I now have 4 more tangles I can add to my armory ;).  However, I royally messed up Reel simply because I am absolutely incapable of recognizing when to stop.  Lily made it look so easy that I drew it directly on my tile with pen, without trying it out first.  That was mistake number 1.  After that it plunged nose first so quickly, it had crashed and burned before I knew what hit me.  Now it looks like an ugly blob on what had the potential to be a perfectly nice tile. Sorry Lily!  I will be smarter next time.

IAST#193

And by smarter I mean I will not attempt it again for a while.  I redid the tile sans Reel.  And just for a change of scenery, I used a black tile.  This time I messed up Lily’s Valentine but it wasn’t catastrophic.  Although I ended up with something very different than the original tangle, it still looks okay.  I do feel bad about leaving out reel though.  I haven’t sworn off of it forever or anything.  I just need a little time to recover and restore my confidence.  And then I’ll give it another shot, I promise!  Until then, here goes…

P.S. If you know the name of the tangle I’ve used instead of Reel on the black tile, please do leave me a comment.  I got it from a tile I’d made long ago before I even knew that these patterns were called tangles and that they have names 🙂

Leave a Reply

